Forgot your Password?

The Global Honor Society for Public Affairs & Administration

Photo As the 2011 out standing Pi Alpha Alpha student, I was given the great opportunity to meet California State Assembly member Jim Beall. Tim Tung, MPA Member - San Jose State University
<< Back to News

2017 NASPAA-Batten Student Simulation Competition Winner Announced

Posted 03/20/2017

Congratulations to World 2 from the Bogotá, Colombia Host Site!

On Saturday, February 25, 2017 (February 26 in Beijing) NASPAA launched its third annual Student Simulation Competition in eight sites across the globe. This year's topic was Food Security and the global effort to address the United Nations Sustainable Goal 2 - to end hunger, achieve food security, improve nutrition, and promote sustainable agriculture by 2017. Students competed in a one-day immersive computer simulation that challenged them to advance global food security. Students from a diverse set of schools at each host site were mixed onto "World" teams of 16-20, where they collaborated asmembers of staff of a fictional global non-governmental organization, committed to reducing global hunger in five world regions. Most sites were comprised of two "World" teams, while a few sites with more students were comprised of three. 

This year's winning team was from Universidad de los Andes in Bogotá, Colombia site. Super judges commented that this team was "...grounded in the day-to-day of food security around the world and that "its strategy recommendations were practical and feasible, focusing on what would work in real-life." The super judges also singled out the team's interesting analysis of how Latin America could help the rest of the world improve food security, as a unique contribution to the global competition. 
Members of the global winning team:

* Angélica Pachón
* Carlos Valadez
* Damaris Rozo
* Fabián David Camacho
* Francisco Esquivel
* Jineth Araujo
* Juan Camilo Villalobos
* Juan Pablo Espinosa
* Juliana Díaz
* Laura Mora
* Maritza Zela
* Sandra Manotas
* Sasha Zapata
* Sergio Peláez
* Susana Yabrudy

Members of the winning team were from the following universities, EAFIT University (Medellín, Colombia); Roger Williams University (Bristol, Rhode Island); Universidad de los Andes; Universidad del Rosario (Bogotá, Colombia); Universidad Externardo de Colombia (Bogotá, Colombia); Universidad de Guanajuato (Guanajuato, Mexico).

Sign Up Now

Enter your personal information to receive the latest news from PAA.

Helpful Links

Back to Top